What! This shouldn’t be happening

Unusual title for a post on this blog, right? But let’s talk. Or, I’ll talk and you read 🙂  We have all witnessed such humongous advancements in technology. You can Google in your living room, on the porch, in the car or on the pot. You can check GPS coordinates from your cell phone and do a little shopping. You can check your work and personal email anywhere. You can stream movies to an iPad or your TV. I could go on but you get the picture.

So why can I not have DSL at home?

Your basic connectivity should be a right. With the rapid decline of print media, we have the right to information. If you want to stream movies, read books, etc., then the lines are blurred and it becomes a privilege.

In grade school, I assumed we would all have hoverboards or hover-vehicles like in Back to the Future. Well, I don’t have a hoverboard but in 2011, when technology has attached itself to every part of our daily lives, I cannot have DSL at home. It is unavailable from my carrier Windstream. I few years ago, I was able to break from the AOL dial-up (cringe) and move to satellite. So for $85 a month for satellite and $65 a month for a landline (that I do not use), I am able to enjoy a mediocre internet connection. To give you a little background…I live in a rural area with a low population.  I must maintain a landline for our security system and DirecTV.

And did you know that the Dollar store sells wine!

Now back to your regularly scheduled program.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What! This shouldn’t be happening

  1. Janie says:

    You and Mom have such a way with words! Love reading your stuff. I assume you wrote this before Mom told you about the deal Verizon was having on internet? I hope you were able to get that and yes, it’s unbelievable that you can’t get DSL thru Verizon. I still haven’t figured that one out. Your not that far from us and you DO have a line!!

Leave a Reply

