Is it Salsa Time?

This year was a good year for gardening, especially tomatoes. Now I don’t garden but I have a great “retired” brother-in-law who loves it and loves to share so I am more than happy to oblige.

Cindy Smith's salsa

This summer, there was no time for canning, so I peeled, quartered and froze in gallon freezer bags. Here are some of the bounty.

And here is a picture of the cook off.

Before I continue there is one – Note to self: only make one batch at a time. I feel like the first batch is pretty good while the second is iffy.

I added:

  • jalapenos
  • cilantro
  • onion
  • redwine vinegar
  • sugar
  • lime juice
  • garlic
  • salt
  • cumin

I would add to the first batch and when I thought about it, add ingredients to the second. I needed the first ones ready because that is my pot for the water bath.

The first batch was ready, pot is washed and now time for the water bath. I could only do nine jars at a time so I had to let the others sit in hot water in the sink until ready. I let them boil for 15 minutes and then add the next load.

Now, it could be that by now it is almost 9 p.m. and I’m missing the Aggies whooping up on Louisiana Tech (how about that Johnny Football?) or maybe just because I’m tired or maybe sometimes I bite off more than I can chew but I just couldn’t get the flavor right on the second batch.

I am really hesitant to share any of my questionable salsa with friends and family. If they happen to get one of the iffy ones, that could totally mess up a friendship. It would start off polite, yes “thanks for the salsa” and then they would start avoiding me. Co-workers would start calling in sick. Family would stop returning my calls or coming to visit.

Oh well what can you do? For me, it’s salsa time and I think I know where the good stuff is.

 

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is it Salsa Time?

  1. casaddi says:

    I want some of that “iffy” salsa!!! If it is like all of the other stuff you make that you think is “iffy”, it is absolutely incredible!!

  2. I am really, really telling the truth this time. Hey, I want to follow your blog. Love the url.

  3. LOVE your new banner…now it really looks like you’re pondering from your porch! You should go ahead and bring in some salsa to work…as you know, I’m always looking for a reason to call in sick…lol. I bet it would still be super tasty! Don’t forget the chips!

Leave a Reply

