Hanging out with John Quinones

John Quinones, Cindy Smith

I just returned from the TxDLA conference and our opening keynote was John Quinones http://abcnews.go.com/WhatWouldYouDo/. John arrived the evening before he was to speak and came by the opening reception in the vendor hall. We asked if he would come by a social I was having for the Board. To our surprise, he did! And what a nice guy. He said a lot of people say, “we were poor and we didn’t know it” but he said, “we were poor and we knew it!”

John was a great guy who seems to genuinely care about people. The conference was great as always and the setting was beautiful at Moody Gardens in Galveston, Texas. My room was upgraded by the hotel to a room with an adjoining parlor. . . sweet!

TxDLA

IMG_0353

IMG_0354

IMG_0355

I returned home just in time to enjoy Easter with the family. A tradition started many years ago by my mother-in-law Jo Nell Smith, is ham dressing at Easter. She taught me how to make and I have been continuing the tradition now for 24 years.

Easter, Jim and Cindy smith

Easter dinner

I wish I had set up the tripod and got a picture of everyone (or at least have taken a better picture) but I think the food was enjoyed by all.

What did you have for Easter dinner?

This entry was posted in Family, holidays, TxDLA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

